Saint André les vergers
Saint-André is a medium-sized town located to the west of Troyes and covering an area of 586 hectares. It was founded in the 16th century by monks from Montier-la-Celle Abbey, and has since enjoyed an enviable reputation for its vegetables and orchard produce. It was during the same period that the current church was built. The southern entrance door, known as the “portail des maraîchers” (market gardeners’ door) was presented as a gift by the town’s residents. Saint-André only changed its name to Saint-André-les Vergers as recently as 1919.
The commune entered a new phase of development following the Second World War, with the opening of Petitjean and Carrefour sites in 1950 and 1975 respectively. The commune is currently home to more than 300 businesses, including shops, service companies and industrial sites. These include well-known names such as Devanlay-Lacoste, Ets Roussey, Darty, Toggenburger, La Polyclinique Montier, La Celle, T.C.P and Groupe Hersant Média.
The town also boasts a wealth of high-quality cultural, sports and social facilities, including the Complexe Sportif Bianchi, the municipal library (containing more than 25,000 books), and the Espace Gérard Philipe (a concert and show venue with a capacity of around 300 people).
Saint-André-les-Vergers is continuing to expand today, while retaining its rural charm. It is noted for its numerous timber-framed houses and protected green spaces, including the Ile Germaine woods, the Canal de la Fontaine Saint Martin and the Bassin des Roises.
La Rivière de Corps
The commune of La Rivière-de-Corps is located on the Troyes plain and covers an area of 736 hectares. It is crossed to the west by the Vienne valley – an exceptional environment with a vast array of micro-landscapes.
La Rivière-de-Corps is an urban commune set against a rural, agricultural backdrop.
It boasts an exceptionally rustic character, with orchards, vegetable gardens, hedge-lined streets, meadows and small wooded areas. In short, La Rivière-de-Corps is a place where life is good.
La Chapelle Saint Luc
The earliest record of the town of La Chapelle-Saint-Luc dates back to 1147. In the 19th century, it was home to the Malterie de Champagne (Champagne Malt-house) and the Compagnie des Chemins de Fer de l’Est (Eastern Railway Company), making it one of the most important communes in the Aube département. The town was severely damaged during the Second World War and was subsequently rebuilt. A large industrial park was also created, known as “Les Vignettes” and “Les Prés de Lyon”.
La Chapelle-Saint-Luc is the second largest town in the département, with a total population of 14,628. It boasts a harmonious combination of natural spaces and pleasant urban developments, especially in the Chantereigne district and Vieille Chapelle. The shopping district stands in the ideal location, at the meeting point of the town’s various neighbourhoods, and plays an important role in La Chapelle-Saint-Luc’s dynamic image. The town is home to five primary schools, eight nurseries, two secondary schools, four school canteens and a wide variety of leisure facilities for young people, including the “Espace Jeunes”, a youth centre dedicated to the arts.
La Chapelle-Saint-Luc is a vibrant place to live! With stunning hanging baskets in its parks, squares, roundabouts and playgrounds, every corner of the town is bursting with floral displays all year round. The town also received the “4 Fleurs” (4 flowers) label in the “Villes et Villages Fleuris” (towns and villages in bloom) competition. The local Etangs de Fouchy Nature Park covers 6 hectares and boasts no fewer than seven separate lakes, as well as stunning green landscapes. It is a haven of peace and tranquillity that is popular with many visitors. La Chapelle-Saint-Luc also has a remarkable collection of heritage, including its 16th century church and the buildings of the former malt-house, which have now been converted into a museum.
La Chapelle-Saint-Luc is a vibrant cultural hub. The Didier Bienaimé cultural centre offers a rich and varied programme of events, including exhibitions, theatrical performances, music, concerts and shows for children.
La Chapelle-Saint-Luc also offers a wealth of options for sports and leisure activities, with high-level facilities such as the Complexe Lucien Pinet and the Parc des Prés de Lyon, with a skate park, solarium, health trail, open-air theatre and boules pitch. The local swimming pool, with its futuristic design, can accommodate up to 400 people and opened in spring 2009.
In the 12 century, the manor of Torvilliers (Torvillare in Latin) was owned by the Counts of Champagne.
The population has risen slowly throughout the centuries.
In 1290, there were around 70 homes in Torvilliers. By 1781, there were 107 homes and 481 people living here. The population stood at 766 in 2000, and the latest figure reveals that the commune is now home to 905 people.
The commune has undergone profound changes in the last six years. The roads have been resurfaced and new pavements created to give the commune a more modern appearance. Torvilliers’ proximity to the city means it has a semi-rural image, but it has managed to retain its rustic charms. The majority of its residents still travel into the city itself for work, for their children’s education, and for day-to-day needs.
The commune is notable for its stunning residences and timber-framed barns converted into modern dwellings by their owners yet retaining their traditional, rustic, regional charms. It also boasts a range of new-build homes, bearing all the hallmarks of the 21st century.
A primary school was built in 2008, providing a modern, comfortable setting for local children.
The nursery school premises have also been renovated.
All children have access to the school canteen, a wrap-around care service and a school holiday club.
There are approximately 20 companies in the commune’s industrial zone. This area is set to expand under the Parc du Grand Troyes. There are also numerous small businesses in the centre of the commune.
The local environment has been improved considerably in recent years, and new planted areas have been installed as part of the commune’s sustainable development efforts. The commune was awarded the “2 Fleurs” (2 flowers) label in 2010.
Torvillois (as the local residents are known) have access to a stadium, an active tennis club with two outdoor courts, and a wide range of other clubs and societies.
Moussey is located in the south of the Troyes conurbation, approximately 10 km from the city centre. It covers a total area of 725 hectares and has a population of around 600 people (known as Mousséens), spread across Moussey and the hamlets of Savoie and Roche. The commune also includes two separate estates, the Château de Villebertin and the Domaine de la Creuse.
Agriculture remains an important activity within the commune. The local council created a small business zone in 2003. The Parc Logistique de l’Aube (Aube Logistics Park), managed by the General Council of Aube, covers 250 hectares, encompassing three communes (Buchères, Saint-Léger-près-Troyes and Moussey).
There is an inter-communal facility for nursery and primary school children. The commune boasts a lively and vibrant community of societies and sports clubs, including Les Compagnons de Saint Martin, a long-standing table tennis club that has had an established regional presence for 50 years.
The vast majority of Moussey’s residents work in Troyes and elsewhere in the wider conurbation. However, numerous initiatives have been introduced to organise local events and activities.
Bréviandes is located in the south of the conurbation, just 15 minutes from Troyes city centre and close to the motorways. It has a bustling town centre that meets a range of daily needs (shops, health services, banks, leisure facilities, etc.). The commune also has a vibrant range of clubs and societies, focused around the library and its social and cultural facilities.
There are also three business districts within the commune, housing small and medium-sized businesses employing several hundred people.
The commune nevertheless has a wealth of green spaces, including in the hamlet of Villepart, as well as protected areas that receive water from the Seine and its tributaries (the Hurande, the Hozain and the Triffoire). As a result, the commune boasts an extensive range of footpaths and trails for environmentally modes of transport.
Buchères retains the typical characteristics of a rural commune, yet can also be described as semi-urban. It nevertheless boasts a wealth of rustic charms. This fast-growing commune stands on the outskirts of the conurbation. Buchères officially joined the conurbation of Troyes on 1 January 2011.
In 1946, following the end of the Second World War, the commune of Buchères had a population of just 483. This was due, in no small part, to the massacre that took place on 24 August 1944. The commune’s population has gradually recovered over the years, reaching today’s figure of 1,448. Over time, various new buildings were erected in the commune, including two housing estates of around 50 homes.
The commune boasts a variety of activities and facilities for children and adults alike, as well as 25 leisure and sports clubs and societies. Local residents also have access to a stadium, a social and cultural centre and two recently opened tennis courts with a club house. A health trail and children’s park were opened in 2012.
The commune itself is home to around 60 businesses, and there is also a logistics park covering Buchères and two other communes (Saint-Léger-près-Troyes and Moussey).
Quality of life is constantly improving in Buchères, and the commune has been awarded a “2 Fleurs Nationales” (town in bloom) label since 2006. It offers a range of services for the local population:
- Out-of-school club, leisure centre, youth club, municipal library
- A range of events: children’s Christmas event, car boot sales, painting exhibition, Bastille Day (14 July) celebrations (food + fireworks), etc.
This commune is located in the south of Greater Troyes, between Moussey and Saint-Thibault.
It covers a total area of 348 hectares, and has a population of 516 people (known as Islois). Local points of interest include a hillock that once housed a Merovingian-era abbey (one of the first monastic establishments in Gaul), along with a vast necropolis for believers who wanted to be buried close to the relics of a saint and a dual church that includes some of the oldest Christian monuments in the region. Archaeologist Jean Scapula conducted painstaking excavations of the hillock between 1943 and 1961, discovering around 1,000 graves, including approximately 600 Merovingian sarcophagi. As such, the commune is a place steeped in history and attracts around 3,000 visitors per year, including many foreign tourists.
The commune also boasts a stadium, a boules pitch, a festival hall and a municipal hall. The commune is home to four businesses and independent traders, and six clubs/societies.
The earliest record of the hamlet of Les Noës dates back to 1162. Its name comes from Rue des Noues, a former Gallo-Roman road that ran from Paris and Montereau to Les Noës. The word “noues” refers to the grasslands and wetlands that are covered in water. The village of Les Noës was therefore identified through its association with water, and this later became Les Noës-près-Troyes. It was originally a peasant farmers’ village with a population of between 50 and 200.
It retained this rural characteristic until the 1970s (population of approximately 900). However, work then began on the construction of a multi-occupant housing development, the Zone Urbaine Prioritaire de Chantereigne-Montvilliers. As a result, the commune lost its rural status and became more urban in nature. Its population rose to 3,500 in 1975, although it had no shops or industries.
Les-Noës-près-Troyes nevertheless began to flourish as part of the Troyes conurbation, with a vibrant community of clubs and societies and a way of life highly prized by its residents. Les Noës remains a relatively modestly sized commune, covering just 73 hectares. It is the smallest commune in the Aube département, and in the Troyes conurbation.
Pons Sancte Mariae, later known as Pont-Sainte-Marie and including the hamlet of Pont-Hubert, has always been a bridgehead over the Seine. By virtue of its strategic location, the village has been a crossing point for many armed forces over the years. During the Gallo-Roman area, this was the only bridge across the river to the north of Troyes and was therefore a major crossroads for several Roman roads.
Pont-Sainte-Marie was the first town in the Aube département to create an eco-district. This commitment is reflected in the “Euréka Collège du Futur” college and in the local economy, particularly the Les Tirverts-Ecrevolles business park, which is dedicated primarily to the food processing industry.
The commune is also home to one of the largest factory outlet sites in Europe (McArthurGlen with more than 90 stores, and Marques City), attracting more than 2 million visitors per year.
In the past, the only records of Rosières-près-Troyes related to the château. Although the exact dates on which the château and the village were founded are unknown, information from historical topographer Courtalon suggest that the village began to emerge around the estate in 1520. Other sources indicate that it existed prior to this date, since Pierre de Provins mentioned the village in 1520.
Some people suggest that the name Rosières comes from the French-style rose gardens found in the grounds of the château, but this is not the case. The most credible explanation is that the word “rosière” was once used to refer to an area of marshland with reeds (“roseaux”). In other words, the estate consisted largely of these marshlands (“rosières”). The château and its owners subsequently inherited this name, and it was then passed on to the village.
The modern-day Rosières was formed through the merger of two separate villages – Rosières and Vielaines.
The two villages became one on 6 May 1795.
Rosières offers a wide variety of cultural and sporting activities, as well as a dense network of educational establishments. Surprisingly for a commune of this size, students can study all the way from nursery school up to postgraduate diploma level without leaving Rosières.
Saint-Germain is small town in the Aube département, within the Champagne-Ardenne region. It is located in the 6th canton of Troyes. It residents are known as Germinois and Germinoises.
Like many other towns and villages in France, the town’s original name (Sanceium) dates back to the Roman era. However, the earliest record of the town dates back to 1121 in the archives of Clairvaux Abbey. Sanceium became Sancey-Saint-Julien in the 15th century, named after a Roman soldier who was born in Vienna, converted to Catholicism and died a martyr in Brioude in 304 AD.
Due to the suppression of Catholicism during the early years of the French Revolution, Sancey-Saint-Julien changed its name to Sancey. As the religious fervour subsided, it again changed its name, this time to Saint-Julien. However, the local residents are still known as Sancéens and Sancéennes. There were 85 villages and towns named “Saint-Julien” in France at the start of the 20th century, and this posed a major problem for postal distribution. At its meeting of 16 March 1919, the local council therefore passed a unanimous resolution to change the town’s name from Saint-Julien to Saint-Julien-les-Villas. The formal change of name was implemented by decree on 5 August 1919. Saint-Julien enjoyed its finest hour during the Age of Enlightenment, with major literary and artistic names such as Charles Perrault, Jean de la Fontaine, Boileau and Fontenelle regularly coming to stay at the Château des Cours. The town is notable for its ancient local customs: the Fête de Saint Julien and traditional Sundays at the water’s edge. People would come here to enjoy a picnic, relax, take a stroll and admire the stunning properties by the water.
Today, Saint-Julien-les-Villas has a population of between 6,600 and 7,000 people, and is also home to some of the Troyes conurbation’s most iconic sites, including the Maison du Patrimoine (heritage centre) and one of the largest factory outlet sites in Europe (Marques Avenue), which attracts millions of visitors each year.
The village known today as Saint-Léger-près-Troyes has variously been called Montreuil, St-Léger-sous-Cervet and St-Léger-sous-Bréviandes. The village is located on the outskirts of Troyes, and 3 km from Bréviandes and Rosières. Due to the high number of worms in the soil, local residents are known as Taupins (the local nickname for earthworms).
The commune covers a total area of 921 hectares, including 679 hectares of farmland and 108 hectares of woodland. It retains its typically rural character, and boasts a rapidly rising population.
The Parc Logistique de l’Aube (Aube Logistics Park) covers 80 hectares of the commune’s territory, just a stone’s throw from the A5 motorway.
The village church, built between the late 15th and early 16th centuries, was listed as a historic monument in 1980. The building has been undergoing restoration work for several years and is currently closed to the public.
The local area boasts around 15 different sports, social and cultural clubs and societies, which organise a varied range of entertainment and special events.
The Ferme Musée Rustique is a living, working farm that is open to the public. It provides a glimpse into the past, with traditional architecture, agricultural tools and a variety of different objects that reveal the rural life of yesteryear. Visitors can also attend guided tours and presentations. The experience culminates in an evening by the wood fire, where the owner will invite you to share this magical world.
Our commune is a green, rural environment that strides two tributaries of the Seine – the Hurande and the Triffoire.
Vice-President of Greater Troyes, Head of Transfer of Powers and Public Contracts, President of the Departmental Local Government Management Centre
Saint-Parres-aux-Tertres is one of the main gateways into the Troyes conurbation. Its name comes from Saint Parres, a saint who was martyred on the top of the hill known as Mont des Idoles in 275 AD.
Around a dozen sarcophagi were found close to the 16th-century church in 1981. These are now on display in the museum, and prove that the site was inhabited in the 3rd and 8th centuries AD. However, Saint-Parres-aux-Tertres does not live in the past. In fact, it has four bustling shopping districts located on the eastern outskirts of the commune. These areas are home to a constantly changing variety of brands and outlets.
Its geographical location means that Sainte-Savine has always been a natural suburb of Troyes. The commune has a long historical connection with agriculture and wine-making. During the industrial revolution in the 19th century, the commune also became home to several textile companies.
The entire western part of the town has now been selected by Greater Troyes to act as a window on the conurbation’s economic vibrancy, via the “Parc du Grand Troyes”.
Sainte-Savine is renowned for its way of life and is therefore a property hotspot. This reputation has been further boosted by the local council’s sustainable development efforts.
Saint-Thibault is located 10 km south of Troyes, close to the Seine. Although the commune could be categorised as “suburban”, it nevertheless retains its historical links with agriculture, and is still home to seven separate farms.
Its population has remained stable at around 500 for several years. In recent years, a programme of historical research has helped to share knowledge, build culture and tourism links and establish strong friendships between Belgians, Italians and French people – in short, between everyone with a passion for Saint Theobald of Provins. In his day, he was one of Europe’s great pilgrims, making his way along ancient routes from his home town of Provins to Belgium, Germany and Santiago de Compostela. His final journey took him to northern Italy, the place of his death. He is still highly venerated to this day. His relics have been widely dispersed, and many can be found in Champagne, including here in Saint-Thibault.
The “rencontres théobaldiennes” (Saint Theobald meetings) are held in a different town or city each year, as part of the commune’s efforts to protect its heritage and develop stronger cultural connections with the rest of Europe.
Saint-Thibault features a range of facilities and amenities, including a multi-purpose hall, a youth centre, a stadium and a school training facility. The commune is currently home to around 20 industrial companies and small businesses and two restaurants.
Troyes stands on the major route between Paris and Basel, and at the crossroads of key trading routes through Europe, from Flanders to Italy. The city therefore enjoys a strategically important location. As a result, Troyes has been able to develop a fast-growing service-sector economy, while maintaining its strong influence throughout eastern France.
The city also boasts extensive cultural and sporting facilities. It is both the capital of the Aube département and the centre of its own conurbation – a dual role that it fulfils with aplomb, organising and managing a wide range of events shared with the surrounding communes.
What’s more, Troyes offers an exceptional range of higher education courses and programmes, and is currently applying for four heritage and tourism labels. The city’s exceptional, historic centre (known as the “champagne cork”) simply exudes charm and draws in vast crowds of tourists, who come to visit its prestigious museums, Gothic churches with listed stained-glass windows, multi-coloured timber-framed houses, Renaissance mansions and renovated industrial heritage – all enhanced by large-scale restoration campaigns.
The village of Verrières stands along the RD49 road and is notable for its long, thin shape and its elegant church.
It comprises three separate hamlets, which gradually merged over time to form the current village (Saint Martin, Saint-Aventin and Verrières).
The village had a population of 246 people in 1710, and 574 people in 1831. From 1975 onwards, an increasing number of city-dwellers seeking a more rural environment were attracted to the village. The census figures show that the village had a population of 1,734 people in 1990. Today, this figure stands at 1,782.
The local area boasts around 10 different sports, social and cultural clubs and societies, which organise a varied range of entertainment and special events. Verrichons (as the local residents are known) have access to a stadium, a multi-purpose sports pitch, two tennis courts, a multi-purpose hall and a library.
The village is highly sought-after, due to its close proximity to Troyes (10 km from the city centre), its peaceful countryside setting, the charms of the Seine valley and its various medical facilities and shops. Verrières is a semi-urban commune that retains all the charms of a rural village. Verrières joined the Greater Troyes conurbation on 1 January 2012.