Knights Templar Museum in Payns
The museum, located 10 km from Troyes in the village where the founder of the Order of the Temple was born in 12th century, was established by the Hugues de Payns Foundation. It recounts the history and adventures of the religious soldiers who have inspired numerous writers since, and continue to be adored by people of all ages to this day.
The Hugues de Payns Foundation
The foundation was established in 1989 by Thierry Leroy, member of the Société Académique de l'Aube (Aube Academic Society), Knights Templar historian and author of numerous books about Hugues de Payns and the legends of the Order of the Temple. The organisation’s purpose is to promote the Temple Commandery in Payns (a small village 10 km from Troyes) and the remains of a feudal keep belonging to Hugues de Payns – the man who founded the Order of the Temple in 1129 and was its first Grand Master. These sites are a remarkable example of unique archaeological heritage. Visitors can explore the Hugues de Payns Museum, located in the heart of the Seine valley, and learn about the life of the founder of the Order of the Temple, the archaeological discoveries, the Temple Commandery in Payns, and the magnificent myths and legends associated with the Knights Templar.
Botanical Gardens in Marnay
The Botanical Gardens in Marnay-sur-Seine feature a vast array of 2,500 different plant species, arranged in thematic routes.
Le Château de la Motte Tilly
Construction work on the château commenced in 1754.
Based on plans by architect François-Nicolas Lancret, it reflects the traditional summer residence style. In 1754, Abbott Joseph Terray (who went on to become Louis XV’s chief treasurer) became the lord of La Motte-Tilly and demolished the former feudal château, replacing it with the current building. The building was deliberately constructed with a north-facing layout, in order to keep it cool.
Both the château and the grounds are listed Historic Monuments.
Le Château de Droupt-Saint-Basle
This inhabited historic monument (16th century, 18th century) is a mixture of fortifications and a mansion retreat.
The structure dates from two separate eras:
• 16th century: the first courtyard with two posterns, the three corner towers, the buildings in the lower courtyard and those to the right of the inhabited building.
• 18th century: the main limestone residence, located in the courtyard between two 16th-century towers.