This commune covers an area of 7.3km² and has 606 inhabitants who are known as ‘Mousséens’. It is located in the suburbs west of Troyes, 10km from the city centre. Reached via the D25, D85 or the D444, the edge of Moussey is less than 2km from junction 21 of the A5 from Paris.
Farming is still an important industry in the commune. The local council spearheaded the creation of an industrial estate focusing on craft skills in 2003. Nursery and primary school children are catered for by an inter-communal arrangement. Moussey has many local events, community associations and sports clubs, including the unusual and long-established Compagnons de Saint Martin table tennis club, which has been playing at a regional level for 50 years.
In the countryside to the north-east of the village there are two exceptional buildings. The Château de Villebertin, an old feudal castle that now owes more to the 19th century, and the Domaine de la Creuse, which was built in the 18th century using traditional Champenoise timber-framing. The Domaine de la Creuse now offers bed and breakfast accommodation so visitors can make the most of its refined and idyllic setting.
Moussey has been able to retain its rural character and most recently, has restored its wash house. This was built in 1861 and can be seen between numbers 44 and 46 Route de Villebertin, on the edge of the village on the road to Chaource. It bears witness to the daily life of the Mousséens until the 1950s. A short distance away, in the middle of the village, the Romanesque architecture of the church of Saint-Martin catches the eye. Somewhat unusually, it is in its original state without any detrimental 16th-century alterations, and was therefore added to the supplementary list of historic monuments in 1926. Its stained-glass windows, like many in the region, date from the 16th century and have been classified as historic monuments since 1913. The simple lines, small semi-circular arched windows and large porch make this a charming church, as does the 19th-century organ that has been classified as an historic monument since 1980.